Some New Favorites

I have been a bit stricter about my eating habits as of lately and I’ve come up with some great recipes to use often that are both versatile and delicious.  I won’t be doing too much talking on here today because I have a 4 year old who is very anxious to get started on his Valentine hearts so here they are! I hope they become regulars in your household as well!

Image

First up is my Ham, Broccoli, and Chevre Frittata.  You can use pretty much whatever vegetable/meat combo you have going on in your fridge at the time but these two together are a classic.

You will need:

4 Eggs

coconut oil, ghee, or butter

1 1/2 cups chopped broccoli

1/4 cup chopped onion

1 cup diced ham (I still have some left from our pig from Jim Berger, owner of Green Vista Farm)

A handful of crumbled chevre (goat cheese)

Chopped fresh rosemary and parsley (or one or the other)

Preheat oven to 350.  Melt fat of choice in a skillet and toss in your onions.  Add in your broccoli and ham and a small amount of water to help everything steam up and put the lid on. Meanwhile, whisk your eggs in a small bowl.  Once broccoli is tender, add the eggs to the skillet. Sprinkle chevre on top and cook on low for about 5 minutes until the bottom is set.  Pop in the oven for another 7-10 minutes until the eggs are cooked through.  Top with herbs and cut into 4 wedges. This serves two but if you are looking for a larger amount, just add some more eggs and extras and cook slightly longer in oven!

Image

Baked Collard Rolls

These are another thing you can fill with anything you’d like.  The first time I made them I used a Creole style cauliflower rice alongside crawfish and the second time I filled them with a Mediterranean cauliflower rice that was loaded with great earthy flavors. Here are the instructions on how to prepare your rolls along with the two fillings I made.

First, you need to blanch your greens.  Bring a pot of water to a boil and add in your leaves. Cook for only about two minutes and pull out of water. Lay flat on your work surface. I cut the thick part of the stems out to make them easier to roll. Meanwhile, get your filling cooking in a skillet. 

Creole Style Cauliflower Rice:

1/2 head cauliflower, grated (come on jerks, use your grater instead of a food processor. It’s like a free forearm work out)

1 small onion, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

3 bay leaves

3 slices bacon, chopped small

1 teaspoon fresh chopped thyme leaves

a pinch of cayenne if you like things spicy

salt and pepper

Fry the bacon up, then add the rest after some fat renders out.  Cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally until the cauliflower becomes “al dente”.  Take out the bay leaves and fill your leaves.

If you want to go a Mediterranean route, use this filling:

1/2 head cauliflower, grated

1 Tbl butter or coconut oil

1 small onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

zest from one lemon

a handful of fresh parsley

And a couple pinches of the following spices:

cumin

coriander

nutmeg

salt and pepper

Melt the butter and cook the all of the ingredients as stated above.

How to roll. (Can’t help singing “they see me rollin, they hatin’..” which leads me to the Nelly song I heard earlier on the radio. Something about smoking L’s. I know what smoking J’s are, but L’s? Someone fill me in here). Anyway, fill each leaf with about 1/4 cup of “rice”. Roll like a burrito (bottom up, sides in, roll to the end).  Place on a baking sheet and put a small dab of butter on top of each.  I salted the tops of mine with my applewood smoked sea salt because it’s just so good I put it on almost everything. Bake at 350 for about 15 minutes until the bottoms turn slightly browned and crispy. 

Image

Chocobanacado Pie

I don’t do a lot of desserts on here but I think this one is definitely worth posting. Not only does it not use ANY added sweetener or nut flours, it contains gelatin.  PLUS, you get to use up ripe bananas and avocados. We all know how often those come about in a primal kitchen.  I’m proud of myself for coming up with this all by myself. Usually for desserts I have to base them off of other people’s recipes. Nope, not this one. This one is all mine. 

For the crust:

Pulse 2 cups dried, unsweetened coconut flakes with 2 Tbl of cold butter in a blender or food processor.  Press into pie tin and bake for 10-12 minutes at 350 until it’s nice and toasty.

Chocobanacado filling:

2 1/2 ripe bananas

1 ripe avocado

1/4 cup dark cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 coconut milk (canned preferably. And preferably Native Forest brand)

1 Tbl unflavored gelatin powder

cacao nibs or whatever you want to top it with 

Heat the coconut milk up gently until it simmers. Stir in the gelatin and simmer for a couple minutes, remove from heat and let cool slightly.  In a a blender or processor, blend the remaining ingredients. Add the gelatin/coconut milk mix and blend until smooth. Pour into crust and top with cacao nibs. Place in fridge for at least an hour to set. 

Now I need to go make Valentines with my main little man before my house gets destroyed by him and the 3 dogs running amok.

Be on the watch for my Wild Boar roast I’m making on Wednesday.  

Leave a Reply

