The BEST Grain-Free Scones You’ll Ever Have

A thought occurred to me yesterday at work.  I think it’s a pretty common thought that a lot of fast food workers are overweight and unhealthy.  A lot of people in the food industry in fact.  The funny thing is, working in a restaurant can be some serious physical activity.  Number one, you’re on your feet for long shifts. Sometimes I literally don’t sit down for 12 hours at a time.  Secondly, you are lifting heavy things all the time.  Boxes, bags that weigh 50+  lbs, the guys who are lifting 160 pound kegs up on shelves, I frequently carry two 40 lb buckets at a time, etc.  So, if we are doing all of this physical activity why are so many of us overweight?  Obviously it’s the food.  This just proves that no matter how much exercise you do, it really comes down to diet in the end.  When I say overweight I don’t mean by the stupid BMI scale they have plastered at the doctor’s office (according to them I’m in the low overweight section..what?).  I mean having enough extra body fat that it is unhealthy and has the potential (If it hasn’t already) to lead to disease.  Anyway, just a little thing to think about next time you are running 6 miles and head for Mickey D’s after.

Moving on to the real reason I’m writing today.  The most awesome scone recipe in the history of the world.  I know all of this paleo baking stuff is sometimes silly, we really shouldn’t be consuming mass amounts of ground up nuts with added sweeteners, BUT sometimes you just need something comforting and warm and sweet in the morning to go with your cup of coffee and obviously this is the better option compared to Dunkin Donuts.

Image

Ok I’ll have to admit.  I made these based off of this recipe.  So happy I came across it because it truly is awesome.  I halved the batch and kept the one egg and wanted to use some of my homemade lard in place of half of the butter. I’m really excited to try these with other flavors.  Thinking maple bacon for the fall with some crushed pecans on the top? Anyway, here is my version:

1 cup almond flour

1/4 cup arrowroot powder

1 Tbsp maple syrup

pinch of salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp lard, melted

1 Tbsp butter or ghee, melted

1 egg

1/2 cup blueberries

Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl. In another small bowl, whisk the egg, butter, and maple syrup.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry, then fold in berries.  Line a cast iron skillet (or round pan) with parchment paper.  Form into large ball and flatten until you have a circle roughly 6-7 inches in diameter.  Bake at 350 for around 18-22 minutes until the top is golden brown.  I moved mine to the top rack for the last 8 minutes and it turned out perfectly.  Cool and cut into wedges!

Leave a Reply

