Learning To Have My Ways With Meat…Eat Your Beefy Heart Out.

Image

This is half a pastured pig and about 35 lbs of grass-fed beef both from local family farms.   I asked if I could have the fat from the pig to make lard, and Matt’s dad was nice enough to give us the heart along with our part of his cow.  I am constantly learning new ways to work with meat, especially the less expensive and a lot of times more nutrient-dense cuts and parts and pieces that most people want nothing to do with.  A little piece of info on the nutrition of beef heart can be found here.  My first experience working with heart of any kind was a rather pleasant one.   I’m not really into liver and would rather have it raw and covered up by the tastes of bananas than to eat it like a regular person.  Julia Child’s chicken liver mousse is alright, just not something I want to particularly eat on a daily basis.  Other than that, my organ meat experiences have been few and far between and I plan to change that.  I pulled the 4 lb heart out of the freezer to thaw in the fridge about 4 days prior to working with it.  I really had no idea what I was doing so I just went with it and trimmed off the sinewy parts.  I was planning to make a Moroccan stew to freeze because there was no way the three of us would consume 4 lbs of heart before it went bad, (not REALLY Moroccan, but Americanized) but wanted to cut off some to taste it just seared medium-rare.  Part of me wishes I would have had a big party and grilled the whole damn thing up on skewers because it really is delicious nice and bloody.  Just like a very lean steak with a lot of iron taste., a little gamey I suppose.  Here’s a photo from before:

beefheart

After trimming, I cubed it and seared it on all sides and threw into the crockpot with the following:

1 large cubed sweet potato

2 small onions, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger

about a teaspooon of the following:

red palm oil

curry powder

cumin

cinnamon

salt

pepper

Let it cook on low for 8 hours or high for 6.  The heart doesn’t get quite fall-apart like it would with a regular stew meat.  Like I said, it is completely Americanized and not real deal Moroccan, which I am learning about.  They use ingredients such as harissa and preserved lemons which I don’t have in my pantry quite yet so I cheated a little.  Although not so pretty, the outcome was rather delicious.  Warm and earthy, just as a spicy sweet stew should be.

beefheartstew

Conclusion on beef heart: Preferably eat med-rare.  With a good glass of red wine. Followed by dark chocolate.

2 thoughts on “Learning To Have My Ways With Meat…Eat Your Beefy Heart Out.

  1. Fantastic to see home grown meat and all the bits used! Try heart in a pie, braise with some shin and some vegetables, reduce/thicken the gravy and top with some nice aged cheddar and bake in some nice pie pastry… and don’t count the calories… 😉

Leave a Reply

