What I’ve Been Waiting For

Two things: COMPUTER INTERNET ACCESS!!!!! Matt went out and bought a net book to use for his future business so while I’m waiting to get my computer, I’m stealing his.  This mean I can finally update here easily so you all will seeing a lot more from me.  Don’t pretend you’re not excited.

Secondly, I got my results from the genetic test back=POSITIVE for the gene mutation that causes Lynch Syndrome.  It was not what I wanted to hear although I had a feeling it was coming.  At least I know. At least I can move on. I already have a number of doctor visits set up to go ahead with the testing needed to check out my insides in multiple locations.  A mammogram today, a uterine ultrasound next week, a GI doctor visit next month.  I feel better and less stressed now that I know.  The wait is definitely the worst part.  Now it’s waiting for the test results to come back.  It now is really time to get on my game and keep myself healthy.  My number one concern is colon cancer so eating a diet full of plant material and making sure my meat is high quality is super important.  Moving on to meat…

We picked up our half of a hog from Whitefeather Meats in Creston, OH.  The pig was raised at Green Vista Farm in Wooster.  Now, I never thought I’d be so excited for box fulls of meat, but when I opened the box full of packages of nitrate-free bacon and sausage among many other cuts and extras (leaf fat and neck bones) I couldn’t help feeling like a little kid on Christmas.   I also have about 35 lbs of grassfed meat hanging out in my freezer with the heart thawing in my fridge.  The day I decide to experiment with that I will probably use the phrase “eat your heart out” about a million times.  (kinda like I kept telling Matt I’d shank him the day I made lamb shanks.)

Onto some recipes.  I have quite a few saved up from the time I wasn’t posting so I chose a few for today.  First, a watermelon gazpacho that is great for a hot summer day and to use up leftover watermelon and vegetables laying around.  Next, a really quick and easy meal I threw together the other night with our first package of pork from our pig and some Hungarian peppers from the garden.  And finally, an easy chocolate coconut macaroon Evan and I made for dessert one night.

Image

Watermelon Mint Gazpacho

4 cups of watermelon, 3 cups set aside and 1 cup finely chopped

1/2 of a large cucumber

1/2 of a red pepper

1/2 of a yellow or orange pepper

1/4 of a red onion

2 stalks of celery, leaves saved for garnish

6 (or around that) fresh mint leaves

2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar

juice from a lime

salt and pepper to taste

Put all ingredients except 1 cup of chopped watermelon into a food processor or high speed blender (I LOVE my Blendtec I decided to splurge on. SO worth it). Pulse until ingredients are all finely chopped (just don’t overdo it, you don’t want a complete puree). Add the rest of the watermelon and garnish with celery fronds and a couple mint leaves.

Image

Inside-Out Stuffed Hungarian Peppers

3-4 Hungarian peppers

1 lb ground sausage

1 teaspoon crushed fennel seeds

1 teaspoon dried oregano

1/4 cup chopped onion

2 cloves chopped garlic

1 can organic fire roasted crushed tomatoes

In sauté pan, cook sausage with chopped Hungarians, onions, and garlic.  When browned, add the spices and tomatoes.  Cook on low for ten minutes. Easy enough?

Image

Triple Chocolate Coconut Macaroons

2.5 cups unsweetened shredded coconut (available in the bulk section of health food stores)

1/4 cup honey

2 egg whites

2 Tbl cacao nibs

2 Tbl cocoa powder

pinch of salt

1/4 cup chopped Macadamia nuts

Dark chocolate to drizzle

Preheat oven to 350.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a bowl combine all ingredients except dark chocolate.  Roll into tablespoon size balls and press down onto parchment paper, making the bottom a little flat.  Bake for15 minutes or just until the edges start to brown.  After cooled, melt some dark chocolate (we like 80 %) and drizzle with a spoon over macaroons. The little hands couldn’t even wait until I was done with the photo before grabbing!

Leave a comment