Biscuits and Crackers, Grain-Free Style.

Sunshine, 36 degrees, crocuses popping up. Spring is just around the corner for us Ohians and I couldn’t be more excited for this dragging winter to be over.  I try to enjoy all the seasons but no matter how hard I try, winter is just not my thing.  Especially the last part of February when spring is so close you can feel it, but snow still covers our cars every morning.  Now it’s March and sun rays were coming through my kitchen window this morning.  I decided I wanted biscuits and so did Evan.  I had tried one other recipe for Paleo biscuits and gravy that tasted more like concrete so this morning I did some research and played around.  I think I found the best base recipe for biscuits, muffins, breads, etc.  I posted this photo on Instagram and had several requests for the recipe so here goes:

Image

In a large bowl combine:

1/4 cup coconut flour

3/4 cup almond flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 TBL softened coconut oil

1 tsp honey or maple syrup

Whisk 3 eggs in a separate bowl and stir into dry ingredients

Drop into 6 biscuits on greased baking sheet.  Bake at 350 or 12-15 minutes.  You could also make these into muffins.  Add dried fruit or nuts or make a savory scone using herbs such as rosemary.  These are delicious served warm with some grass-fed butter and a little drizzle of honey.

 

Another thing I made the other day which was considerably awesome for a paleo remake were these crackers. Evan and I had a picnic on the living room floor.  We used the crackers to go with some local goat cheddar.  Image

2 cups almond meal

1 tsp salt

1.5 tsp herbs such as rosemary and basil

2 Tbl olive oil

2 Tbl water

1 egg white

Combine ingredients and line a cookie sheet with baking paper.  Roll the dough out using another sheet of baking paper on top and a rolling pin until about 1/8 inch thick. Take off the top piece of paper and use a knife or pizza cutter to cut into squares.  Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown!

Okay so we all love our paleo baked goods.  We all need to remember however that the bulk of our meals should consist of quality proteins and vegetables. I am guilty of letting a loaf of almond bread become my 2 outta 3 meals. So enjoy these recipes…in moderation!

 

Leave a Reply

